As you drive up Main Street heading to your dorm, you can’t help but feel an overwhelming sense of excitement.
Welcome week is starting off strong as you see friends from classes, set up your new room, and of course, attend the parties that are happening all across campus—especially the big one tonight.
As you prepare to head out for the party, you throw on your favorite pair of All Stars, grab your university sweatshirt and run out to your car—with the 6 pack of beer your older brother bought you. Though you just turned 20, you have been attending parties on campus since you were 18…and you never got busted!
As you speed around a corner, the frat house comes into sight—along with flashing red and blue lights behind you.
As a cop approaches the car to ask you why you were speeding, he sees the 6 pack lying on the passenger seat…uh-oh.
Were You Caught Underage Drinking?
If this story sounds familiar, you’re not alone!
Bryan Coulter, a criminal defense attorney in Lafayette, Indiana knows how serious a minor consumption charge can be! Read on to learn more about possible consequences and how a criminal defense attorney can help with your case.
What Are the Penalties for a Minor Consumption Charge?
This party was supposed to be the highlight of the semester, except it ended in handcuffs…so where does this leave you?
In the state of Indiana, underage consumption is treated very seriously—a Class C misdemeanor to be exact! A Class C misdemeanor can bring stiff fines and heavy penalties, including:
- Jail Time: A conviction could be punishable by up to 60 days in jail.
- Fines: A conviction could include a fine of up to $500.
- Driver’s License Suspension: Your license could be suspended for up to 1 year.
- University Punishments: Some universities can choose to punish students charged with underage drinking through suspension, expulsion, or other forms of discipline.
We know what you’re thinking…a Class C misdemeanor and up to 60 days in jail over a 6 pack, seems a little harsh, right?
Unfortunately, that is the law. But you’re not alone! A criminal defense attorney in Lafayette, Indiana can help you!
How Can a Criminal Defense Attorney Help You?
With your future at stake, along with employment and education opportunities, you need an attorney who knows their stuff!
So, how can a criminal defense attorney actually help you?
Once you are charged with minor consumption, you should contact a criminal defense attorney right away. A criminal attorney can thoroughly review your case’s details to help you receive the best possible outcome from the court.
Some widely used defenses include:
- Errors in determining whether or not you were actually drinking an alcoholic beverage.
- You involuntarily consumed alcohol without your knowledge.
- You were coerced to drink alcohol to avoid threat or bodily harm.
- If you were breathalyzed and there was a malfunction with the device.
- You were around others who were underage drinking but you weren’t participating yourself.
Your attorney will determine the best course of action to help reduce penalties and avoid the threat of a criminal record.
Do You Need the Help of a Criminal Defense Attorney in Lafayette, Indiana
After your minor possession charge, you have been on your best behavior—avoiding all frat houses in sight! But your court date is slowly approaching…who can you trust to help you?
If you have been charged with minor possession in Lafayette, Indiana, contact Coulter Law Office! Bryan Coulter has over a decade of experience with criminal law and is ready to develop a strategic plan to fight for your rights.
Don’t let a simple mistake impact your future! Call (765) 423-2888 for more information.